Apple Pie (Hold the Pie) Oatmeal

I’m on an oatmeal kick.

“What? Why?” You ask????

Shucks. Well, let me tell you, my friend, there is a devil amongst us named…

LDL cholesterol

And he plagues my arteries. Plaques it.  Anyway, oatmeal is heart healthy guys.  And while you may crave ice cream or fudgy cake or some other no-no food, just remember that there are 6 other days of the week to hate yourself.

I kid. But really.  @*&# you, cholesterol.

Apple Pie (hold the pie) Oatmeal

Untitled

Recipe adapted from oh she glows (that woman has a nice story):

Yield: 1 serving ( I doubled it )

Ingredients:

1/3 cup regular oats

1 tablespoon chia seeds (..Chia pet? I’ve never owned anything Chia; so I didn’t use these)

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp ground ginger + pinch of kosher salt

1/2 tsp ground cardamom

1 + 1/4 cups Almond Milk

1 Granny Smith apple, peeled and cut into 1 inch pieces

2 tbsp maple syrup

1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce

1/4 cup raisins

1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract

1/4 tsp coconut extract (optional)

1 tsp fresh lemon juice

At least 2 tbsp chopped walnuts

Directions:

1. In a medium sized pot over medium heat, whisk together the 1/3 cup oats, peeled and chopped apple, 1 tbsp chia seeds, 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce, 1.25 cups almond milk, 1 tbsp pure maple syrup, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ginger, pinch of kosher salt. Whisk well.

2. Heat over medium heat for about 8 minutes, stirring often. Because I doubled my recipe, it took nearly twice as long. When the mixture thickens and the liquid is absorbed, it is ready. Stir in the pure extract(s).

3. Pour into a dish and sprinkle with chopped walnuts, a pinch of cinnamon, and more maple syrup. Add a tiny bit of almond milk on top. I personally like drowning my oatmeal with it because I LOVE ALMOND MILK. Almond milk with maple syrup are an unsung duo. I’ve been inhaling it like a meth addict because we have the fat free kind which is 30 calories per cup, cholesterol free, and packed with vitamins and calcium. Buy yours today! 🙂

You’re Welcome, Arteries.

