Chocolate Phyllo Cups with Rose Water Whipped Cream

Chocolate Phyllo Cups with Rose Water Whipped Cream

My grandma is Middle Eastern and also one of the greatest women that I have ever known. She’s my role model, my heart, and I have such great respect for her and her strength. Any cooking soulfulness that I possess, I acquired from her.  Now, she is known for her ethnic food, but especially her baklava. I have tried a lot of baklava in my life, and most have paled in comparison; if you tell me I am biased, I will just deny it.

This recipe is dedicated to her. What is untraditional in construction still holds true to her favorite ingredients.

You can find rose water in any Middle Eastern convenience store. A bottle should not be more than $4-5 and will last you forever. Also, it’s made from rose petals—I don’t know how that wouldn’t at least intrigue you.  Rose water is very aromatic and floral, but, by itself, it is not sweet. Please don’t use more than recommended. It’s stronger than Kobayashi’s digestive tract.

Image

Bee-you-tee-full. Aren’t they dainty?

A whole package of phyllo dough can make 100 cups; feel free to use part of it and freeze the rest in a securely closed package.

Recipe:
A box of Phyllo Dough (usually in the frozen or refrigerated section of the supermarket)

1 stick of butter, melted

6 oz white chocolate (I used dark, but white is better)

Dash of sea salt

1 tsp vegetable oil

 Directions

1. Set the oven to 375.

2. Lay out 5 phyllo sheets at a time. The trick with phyllo is not to let it dry out or it will become difficult to handle, so lay a towel over the ones being unused. Take a brush or spoon and ladle butter between each of the sheets. Then, cut the sheets into squares and place each one into individual mini-cupcake molds. Repeat with next 5 sheets.

3. Bake for 10 minutes or until golden brown and crisp.

Image

4. Melt chocolate with a teaspoon of vegetable oil in the microwave. Smooth a quarter’s worth on to the base of each cup’s interior, add a tiny bit of sea salt to each, and placed in the fridge to harden (5-10 min).

Image

Make the rose flavored whipped cream; add rose water like you would vanilla extract.

Rose Water Whipped Cream:

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1 small carton (1 pint) heavy cream or whipping cream

2 tbsp rose water

Red food dye (optional)

In a medium bowl, use an electric mixer on medium speed to beat cream until peaks begin to form; add sugar, rose water, and food dye, beating until stiff and very thick, about 5-7 minutes. Apply with a fancy-pants pastry tip. Serve immediately, since whipped cream doesn’t hold well.

You can also decorate with chopped or ground pistachios for a Middle Eastern hoo-ha!

