Chocolate Toffee Matzah

Passover is coming around soon, and a friend asked me if I had any recipes. Being the potential diabetic that I am, I, of course, wanted the perfect matzah recipe for my sugar fix.

Chocolate Toffee Matzah with Nuts

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

CANDY! If you like Heath bars, as I do, you’ll love these. The steps are fairly simple, and it produces a lot of squares to go around. You can half the recipe if you only want one sheet pan’s worth; however, I think they make good Jew gifts 🙂
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The original recipe is can be found on Martha Stewart’s site  but below includes my adjustments.

Ingredients
4-5 sheets matzah, salted or unsalted (I salted mine)
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, in pieces
1 cup packed dark-brown sugar
1 (12-ounce) package semisweet chocolate chips (2 cups), feel free to use a darker chocolate
Sea salt

1 cup of crushed nuts, varied in size (I made one pan with walnuts and the other with pecans, and I sprinkled both with ground almonds for a pleasant aesthetic.)

Directions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Place matzah in an even layer on baking sheet; break pieces in order to cover the entire surface of the pan without leaving spaces.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Melt butter in a saucepan over medium heat. Add brown sugar, and stir until sugar has completely dissolved and begins to bubble for 3 minutes, still stirring. Drizzle toffee over matzah and spread using a spatula. I worked semi-slowly and didn’t have problems with the toffee rehardening.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Bake at 350 until toffee is bubbling and has a shiny sheen, 8-10 minutes-ish; take out if you see anything burning or turning too dark on the sides.

In the meantime, toast the nuts. I microwaved mine, spread out flat on a large plate, for 1 1/2 minutes.

Remove matzah from oven and sprinkle with chocolate chips. Let sit. After 2 minutes, start spreading the chips with a spatula.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sprinkle with crushed nuts and sea salt. Transfer matzah to refrigerator and let chill 1 hour.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Break chilled matzah into pieces; I cut mine into squares using a large chef’s knife.

Store in the refrigerator.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This dessert leaves the best scraps; can you say, homemade ice cream topping?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

