Savory Matzah Brei with Sauteed Onion

Just because this is the first time I have ever made / eaten matzah brei, doesn’t make me a bad Jew. There are tons of other things that make me a bad Jew.

While this dish came out nice, I can’t help but feel like a sunny side up egg between two pieces of buttered and slightly softened matzah would be delicious as well, yet that’s no Jew staple.  The onions I added were of essence, as they took away from the carb-centric focus of this dish. It would also be delicious with diced garlic and mozzarella cheese mixed into the egg batter; or, you could lay cheese on top of the finished brei and broil it in the oven for a minute. Also, the extra salted butter to just drizzle over the finished brei is fantastic. Just ask Paula Deen.

There is also the sweet alternative to matzah brei. I wanted to go savory, a thought that rarely enters my brain, because after eating cereal for the entire day, I needed some salt in my body. (I guess I don’t have a carbs limit, though.) Should you go that route, leave out the pepper, garlic, and onions, and top with cinnamon, powdered sugar, and maple syrup, aka. make it Passover friendly french toast.

Savory Matzah Brei with Sauteed Onion  

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

4 unsalted matzah sheets

5 eggs ( I used 1 yolk but 5 egg whites to reduce the cholesterol )

1 teaspoon kosher salt

1/4 tsp garlic powder

Dash black pepper

2 tablespoons butter

1 medium onion, sliced

Extra melted, salted butter (optional for serving)

Directions Bring a medium saucepan of water to a boil. Break the matzah into 2×2 inch pieces and place in a colander in the sink. Pour hot water over every surface of the matzah letting it soften. Place 1 Tbsp butter in a large fry pan; after melted, saute onions on medium heat until translucent and flexible, like Gumby. Remove from heat.

Any yipper snappers not know who Gumby is?

Any yipper snappers not know who Gumby is?

Lightly beat together eggs and season with the salt, garlic, and pepper. Add the scalded matzoth and stir to evenly combine. Add sliced onion but reserve some for topping.

Heat the rest of the butter on medium; pour entire egg mixture and cook undisturbed until golden brown on one side, about 5 minutes. You can try to flip the entire thing, but I prefer slicing it into quarters and turning each one individually. Cook until browned on the other side, about another 5 minutes. Serve with reserved onions and extra melted salted butter, if preferred.   Eat the same day as prepared.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

