Chicken Pot Pie

Chicken Pot Pie is the key to my heart. There you go. Now that it’s out in the open, I expect hundreds of suitors at my door with pie at hand. Don’t worry. I will taste them all.

I don’t believe I ever had a Marie Callender Pie, but oh boy am I curious. My only hesitation is that frozen pie seems to be the work of the devil. They’re typically, so fricken delicious, and yet, I fear that they wreak havoc on my internal organs.

That being said, just make your own! You can conveniently use frozen vegetables and freeze pie crusts in advance with the added bonus of knowing everything that you are ingesting (or as much as reasonably possible. I still trust nothing. Nothing.) P.S. My love for pie, savory or sweet, has no bounds (HEY this blog is called Kitchen Bound; co-ink-eedink!?).

Other Chicken Dinner Recipes:

Panko Crusted Chicken Two Ways: Pear, Sage, Gruyere and Ricotta, Tomato, Basil

Parmesan Chicken with Stewed Peaches

Chicken Pot Pie


OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Pate Brisee Crust – aka a savory, buttery and flaky crust (there are alternative recipes that don’t involve shortening, just increase butter to one full stick)

*Double this recipe if you want a top and bottom crust. Mine was only made with a top.

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 stick (6 tablespoons) cold unsalted butter, cut into bits
2 tablespoons cold vegetable shortening
1/2 teaspoon salt
3 tbsp ice water

In a large bowl blend the flour, the butter, the vegetable shortening, and the salt until the mixture resembles meal. Add 3 tablespoons ice water, toss the mixture until the water is incorporated, and form the dough into a ball. Knead the dough lightly with the heel of the hand against a smooth surface for a few seconds to distribute the fat evenly and re-form it into a ball. Dust the dough with flour and chill it, wrapped in wax paper, for 1 hour.

Pot Pie Ingredients
1 pound skinless, boneless chicken breast – cubed or cut cut into pieces
1 cup sliced carrots
1 cup frozen green peas
1/2 cup sliced celery
1 cup chicken stock
1/3 cup butter
1/2 cup chopped onion
1/3 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/4 teaspoon celery seed
2 1/2 cups chicken broth
1 1/3 cup milk

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (220 degrees C.)

In a saucepan, combine chicken, carrots, peas, and celery. Add water to cover and boil for 15 minutes in stock. Remove from heat, drain and set aside.

In the saucepan over medium heat, cook onions in butter until soft and translucent. Stir in flour, salt, pepper, garlic powder, and celery seed. Slowly stir in chicken broth and milk. Simmer over medium-low heat until thick. Remove from heat and set aside.

Place the chicken mixture in bottom pie crust. Pour hot liquid mixture over. Cover with top crust, seal edges, and cut away excess dough. Make several small slits in the top to allow steam to escape. (Mine, I only used a top crust which I just sealed into the rim of the baking pan I used. I also cut out shapes I thought looked perty.)

Bake in the preheated oven for 40 to 45 minutes, or until pastry is golden brown and filling is bubbly. Cool for 10 minutes before serving.

