Scalloped Potatoes Au Gratin

Do you ever wake up in the morning to a song playing in your head? I do everyday, and today, it was the Macarena… does that mean it is going to be a great day??

I made these scalloped potatoes to nest up next to my awwwesome Bordelaise Steak. I have one week before I start my new job (EXCITEMENT AHAHAH) but until then, I am going through my culinary bucket list. Hence, my first steak ever and my past Croissant blog post. Also, I wanna make homemade Mallomars this week because I’ve never made marshmallows and they’re supposed to be wicked. Does anyone else have a culinary bucket lists or is it just me? 

These potatoes are a GREAT side dish. The crust that forms on top is priceless, and these potatoes are creamy and rich, despite there actually being no heavy cream. I even used skim milk and it wasn’t evident in the final product.  I’d recommend using a mandolin to really get those slices thin; in truth, I hand sliced them and they turned out great, so no worries.  I used yellow cheddar, but obviously white is also good. If you sub in for something else, I just recommend it being a meltable cheese *dur*. This recipe is soo simple but soo delish. Family pleaser for sure.

Scalloped Potatoes Au Gratin

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Serves 3

2 cups thinly sliced potatoes
1 1/2 tablespoons butter
1 1/2 tablespoons flour
1 cup milk
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/2 cup grated sharp cheddar cheese
1/4 cup grated cheese, to sprinkle on top
Paprika to sprinkle
Garnish with sage or parsley

Directions:

In a small sauce pan, melt butter and blend in flour. Let sit for a minute. Add all of cold milk, stirring with a whisk. Season with garlic, nutmeg, and cayenne.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cook sauce on low until smooth and boiling, stirring occasionally with a whisk. Reduce heat and stir in cheese.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Place a half of the sliced potatoes in a lightly greased one quart casserole dish. Pour half of cheese sauce over potatoes. (You can also choose to do this part in 4 sections.)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Repeat with second layer of potatoes and cheese sauce. Sprinkle the remaining cheese on top. Top with some paprika for color.

Bake uncovered for about 1 hour at 350°F.

