Curry Spiced Fried Tofu

I’m really okay with eating tofu out of the box. And I think that’s normal, especially in healthier countries. A lot of people (men..) refuse to eat tofu. Here’s one way to stuff it down their gullets without inducing some foie-gras type prevention law.

Is this recipe healthy? Hm.. Questionable.

Anyway, I’m honestly surprised by how much I like these lil guys. If you  fry them enough so that they brown, they’re very crunchy on the outside, and the broth soaking phase really adds to the taste of the tofu. I also cooked up some onions to go with it. As for a dipping sauce, I’m thinking soy or sweet & sour, anything Asian actually. Mine broke apart into small squares because I couldn’t find extra-firm, which worked out nicely because there  was more surface area for frying and hence more nuggets. Ye kno I like dem nuggets!

Best eaten the same day.

Curry Spiced Fried TofuOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

1 (16 ounce) package extra-firm tofu, drained and pressed
2 cups broth, chicken or vegetable
3 tablespoons oil, I used sesame
1/2 cup all purpose flour
2 tablespoons cornstarch
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 tsp curry
1/4 tsp chili powder
1 tsp sage
1 tsp garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/4 tsp paprika
1 Tbsp parmesan cheese
Extra oil ( I used olive because I didn’t want to use too much of an unhealthy oil)

  1. Drain tofu and compress under weight OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA.
  2. Cut pressed tofu into 1/2-inch thick slices; then cut again into 1/2-inch wide sticks. Place tofu in a bowl, and pour broth over the top. Set aside to soak.
  3. In a separate bowl, stir together flour, yeast, salt, pepper, sage, and cayenne. Remove tofu sticks from broth, and squeeze most (but not all) of the liquid from them.
  4. Roll sticks in breading. Place in freezer at least 30 minutes and up to 3 days.
  5. When ready, place tofu in hot oil; fry until crisp at medium high heat and browned on all sides. Add more oil as necessary.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
