Tofu Parmigiana

Lunch time for me has been kind of shitty ever since I was a wee laddie. My mom, who cannot cook, can also not construct a sandwich for the life of her. I never fully understood why, but I believe it’s because she just doesn’t give a  hoot. PB&J sandwiches would be spotted instead of smeared; tuna fish sandwiches would have a 1/8 inch thick layer of tuna, TONS of mayo (which would make me gag) and would sit in a gigantic ciabatta bread too large for my prepubescent mouth. Hence, for awhile, I made the transition to Costco bought pb&j Uncrustables for both breakfast and lunch every day for about a year or two, until I developed a physical repulsion by the mere sight of them….

Now that I’m older, the options are typically A: Pack a lunch. B: Buy lunch.

Option A is shitty because it’s effort and never quite that special unless you really go out of your way, in which case, it’s still shitty because cycle back to  effort.

Option B is just costly. If you’re prudent, like me, buying lunch is like taking yourself out on a date. (To a sandwich place. Hey, big spender!)

This recipe is so easy/healthy (and how!) and it supplied my lunch for 3 days. Yurp. You can extrapolate the process if you so choose by making your own tomato sauce, but I just chose my favorite store bought one for the sake of time. *Fresh, not dried, basil is key to crankin’ it up a level.

Super Easy & Delicious Tofu Parmigiana

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA   

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA 

Ingredients

2/3 cup panko
5 tablespoons grated Parmesan cheese
2 teaspoons dried oregano, divided
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp garlic
1 (12 ounce) package firm tofu
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 cup of favorite tomato sauce
1 Tbsp fresh basil, cut up
4 ounces shredded mozzarella cheese *I used gruyere because I had it on hand

Drain and press tofu to release of liquid.

Mix panko, 2 Tbsp of cheese, dried herbs, salt, and garlic together in a bowl and then spread on a flat plate.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Slice tofu into thin 1/4 inch widths. Mine broke apart some, but no worries if it does. Dredge the tofu slices in the panko mixture, press lightly to evenly crust each piece of tofu. In a large sauté pan, heat the olive oil to just about smoking, and sauté the tofu until lightly browned on both sides (1 to 2 minutes). Layer the tofu in a baking dish with the marinara sauce, basil, and cheese. Sprinkle the top layer with the rest of the Parmesan.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Bake at 400 F for 20 minutes or until cheese is browned.

