Versatile Blogger Award & Moroccan Chicken Bastilla

Thank you to the Peckish Kiwi for choosing me as #2 recipient of the Versatile Blogger Award!!!!! Also, thanks for pointing out that I only have 25 followers, lol. ALSO thanks to Miss Chris Creations for the nomination as well!

~Double double toil and trouble~

versatileblogger11

versatileblogger11

Here are the rules of the award:

Thank the person who gave you this award. Include a link to their blog.

Next, select 15 blogs/bloggers that you’ve recently discovered or follow regularly.Nominate those 15 bloggers for the Versatile Blogger Award.

Finally, tell the person who nominated you 7 things about yourself.

Blogs I chose:

Marinating Online

Kitchen Inspirations

GlutenFreeGus

Sassy Early Grey

Uni Homemaker

Le Pirate

Maggiesonebuttkichen

Dinner of Herbs

Craving Chronicles

Cake Stories by Rose Sen

Piece of Cake

DessertCrisis

a whisk and a spoon

tart to heart

Bake Love Not War

And 7 facts about myself

1. Muse is my favorite band; I just saw them live for the first time, and boy, was I a happy camper.

2. I eat ice cream at least once everyday (once is an understatement), while ignoring the futile pleas of my doctor.

3. When people make sounds while they eat, I want to rip off my own ears.

4. I’ve never had a pet larger than a fish. I called it Fishy because I’m..clever?

5. My favorite movie is Moulin Rouge, which gave me unrealistic expectations about life and love.

6. My favorite food is pie; it is the not-so-secret secret to my heart.

7. I really want to visit Savannah, Georgia. And I never thought I’d say that. It calls to me.

And now for the main course:

Moroccan Chicken Bastilla

I like to call it “chicken baklava.” It combines both worlds, sweet and savory, into one fantastic dish. The phyllo crust is topped with powdered sugar and cinnamon, but the inside is filled with succulent, shredded chicken, onion, and Moroccan spices. I also chose to add raisins and orange peel/juice for an extra somethin somethin.

P.S. Ate this whole thing for both lunch and dinner everyday for like..a week.

  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ingredients

2 tbsp butter
1 onion, sliced
2 cloves garlic, chopped
2 lbs chicken breast
3 cups chicken broth
1 large onion, chopped
1 tsp turmeric
1 tsp fresh grated ginger
1/2 tsp cardamom
1 tsp orange blossom water optional
1 tsp cumin
1/4 cup fresh parsley
1 cinnamon stick
3 oz golden raisins
1 Orange, Zested into large strips, save the juice
salt
5 eggs (I used 5 whites and 1 yolk to be healthier)

2/3 cup almonds
1 tsp sugar
2 Tbsp ground cinnamon

1/4 cup honey
1 pckg phyllo dough
2 Tbsp butter, melted
confectioners’ sugar and cinnamon for dusting

1. Thaw phyllo dough at room temperature. Melt butter in a large saucepan. Add garlic and cook over medium high until lightly brown; add onion and turmeric and cook until slightly browned.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

2. Add chicken breasts and pour in broth. Add ginger, cumin, parsley, cinnamon, cardamom, orange blossom water, orange zest, some freshly squeezed orange juice, raisins, and  salt. Bring to a boil and cook for about 30 minutes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

3. Process almonds; then cook in a tiny bit of butter until toasted. Mix in sugar, 1 Tbsp ground cinnamon, a pinch of cardamom, and squeezed orange juice.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

4. Remove the chicken from the stock and set aside to cool. Reduce the stock to 1/3 cup. Remove the cinnamon stick and peels.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Beat the eggs in a separate bowl, then cook in a skillet with thickened broth/sauce. Stir to scramble and cook until no longer wet.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

4. Shred chicken in a food processor and add to the egg mixture. Make sure this mixture is not too wet.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

5. In a cake pan, layer 6 sheets of phylo, brushing each layer with melted butter. The sheets should drape over the sides of the pan. Fold 2 sheets of phyllo in half and place in the center for stability.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

6. Place half of the almond mixture down in the middle of the pan, then all the shredded chicken/egg mixture down, and top with the remaining almond mixture. Drizzle additional honey. Fold another 2 sheets of phyllo in half and place on top. (I had quite a bit of chicken mixture leftover.)

7. Fold the overlapped phyllo from the bottom over the top of the bastilla. Brush with melted butter to make sure everything sticks together. Bake at 400 F for 20 minutes, until the phyllo is brown and crisp.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

8. Invert onto a large baking sheet. dust with confectioners’ sugar and 1 Tbsp of ground cinnamon.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

