Bacon and Sausage Breakfast Cupcakes

I love breakfast so much that I wake up in the morning already excited to eat breakfast. I.e. Frosted Flakes with extra sugar. Or Life cereal. MMMmMMmm.

Growing up, I loved breakfast sausage, though my mom forbade me to eat pork. Instead, I stuck to good ole sunny side up eggs, toast, and home fries; but every now and again, I’d sneak the meat in (?!).  Though I only eat breakfast sausage in a very specific fashion—I dip it in syrup, or wrap it in pancake, and then I dip that in syrup. Some people when I tell them this stare at me judgingly. Which is stupid. The concept isn’t so outlandish if you think about honey-baked ham or chocolate-covered bacon. The food industry is doing progressively weirder and weirder things, so placing meat, like bacon, on a cupcake now almost seems, well, blah-sé. Think Denny’s Bacon Sundae.

stephen-colbert-bacon-sundae-345

Here, I combined the taste of french toast (cupcake base) with sugary maple syrup (frosting), topped with a nice chop o’ meat.

Good ole fashioned meat cupcakes!

Maple Bacon French Toast Cupcake

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Maple Sausage French Toast Cupcake

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

CUPCAKE

1 Stick Butter
1 Cup Sugar
2 Eggs
1 1/2 Cups All-Purpose Flour
1/2 Tbsp Baking Powder
1 tsp Ground Cinnamon
1/4 tsp Nutmeg
1 tsp Salt
1/2 Cup Milk
1 tsp Vanilla

STREUSEL

  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
    1/2 cup brown sugar
    1/2 tsp cinnamon
    1/4 tsp nutmeg
    1/4 tsp salt
    5 Tablespoons cold unsalted butter, in chunks

Maple Buttercream

1 stick unsalted butter, at room temperature
1/3 cup powdered sugar
1/2 cup maple syrup
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 tsp kosher salt

To make the cupcakes:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees (180 C). Line a muffin pan with cupcake liners; set aside.

Whisk together the flour, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt. Add the butter and mix in until coated. Combine wet ingredients together, then slowly add to the dry ingredients, mixing and incorporating in intervals.

To make the streusel:

In a large bowl, combine the brown sugar, sugar, flour, cinnamon, and salt. Mix the cold butter into the mixture, with your hands, a pastry blender, or a fork, until it looks like wet sand.

Place batter in each prepared cup, 2/3 filled. Divide the streusel evenly among the cupcakes, and sprinkle a little on each one. Bake for 20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean (12-15 for mini). Let cool completely.

For the buttercream:

Combine all ingredients in the bowl of a stand mixer fitter with a whisk attachment and beat on low speed until syrup and sugar are incorporated, about 1 minute.

Increase speed to high and beat until mixture is light and whipped, about 5 minutes. Frost ’em.

