Easy Caramel Puffcorn Candy

Just had chinese food leftovers. Why is it that chinese food is always better the next day *in my opinion*. But don’t trust my preferences. I don’t see what’s the big deal about old coffee.

Made this for Mother’s Day. There is something really magical about this easy-peasy recipe. As some friends remarked, it’s kind of like everything wonderful about caramel corn without the annoying kernels. Maybe it’s just me, but I constantly get popcorn stuck in my throat. I’ll start coughing like a weathered smoker and it’s really just pathetic.

The puff corn centers in these just dissolve. Like mouth crack. The below pictures really don’t do any justice to how these actually taste. Also, the addition of vanilla extract becomes quite quintessential in the caramel. These morsels are pure flavor punches. Pack them in bags and give them as gifts. Or don’t.

The most common recipes call for 2x as much butter and corn syrup. I don’t think you need it. I love it just as it is.

So simple.

Easy Caramel Puffcorn Candy

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA      OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ingredients:

One bag butter flavored puff corn

1 stick of butter

1 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup light corn syrup

Preheat oven to 250. Pour Chester’s Puffcorn into a baking pan or oven safe dish. In a large saucepan, cook together butter, brown sugar, and light corn syrup for 2 minutes, until boiling. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Add vanilla baking soda to mixture which will cause caramel mixture to foam.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pour caramel mixture over Puffcorn in baking pan and stir until mixed. Make sure to leave room in the pan so you can later flip them around without making a mess. I had to use two.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Place in oven for 25-30 minutes. (Don’t mind the pic. Use the upper rack. I changed it when I saw the bottom cooking too fast.) Sir every 10 minutes. Remove from oven and place on wax paper and break apart.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Can also add peanuts and/or chocolate drizzle. But try it first plain so you can first witness it in all of its perfection.

