Butternut Squash Couscous

I’m watching AdventureTime and my mom just told me that I should stop watching little kid shows. She totally doesn’t understand this show. But that’s fine. It took a couple of years before she came to accept Family Guy as the sophisticated piece of work that it is.

I thoroughly enjoy dishes that involve butternut squash (period) Like the butternut squash fries at Pappy’s in St. Louis. So wrong but so right.

I’m the type of gal that likes to incorporate sweet notes into savory meals. Hence, the raisins and cinnamon, and why you’ll find sugar in my tomato sauce recipes. I added additional some brown sugar and honey to my couscous. Do what you like, loves. Diabetes is going to knock on my door some day, but when it does, I’ll offer it some pie.

Butternut Squash Couscous

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

1 1/2 pound butternut squash, peeled and seeded, and cut into 1/4-inch dice
3 tablespoons olive oil
1 large onion, chopped
1 1/4 cups Israeli couscous
1 (3-inch) cinnamon stick
1/2 cup pine nuts, toasted (I used slivered almonds)
1/2 cup golden raisins
3 Tbsp lemon juice
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
Salt to taste
Honey for drizzling (optional)

Preheat oven to 450°F.

Toss squash with 1 tablespoon oil and salt to taste in a large shallow baking pan and spread in 1 layer. Roast in upper third of oven 15 minutes, or until squash is just tender, and transfer to a large bowl.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cook onion in 1 tablespoon oil in a 10-inch heavy skillet over moderately high heat, stirring occasionally, until just beginning to turn golden. Add to squash.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cook couscous with cinnamon stick in a large pot of boiling salted water 10 minutes, or until just tender, and drain in a colander (do not rinse). Add couscous to vegetables and toss with 2 tablespoon oil to coat.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Add lemon juice, nuts, raisins, ground cinnamon, and salt to taste. Toss to mix well and drizzle with honey once served.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Goes well with anything chicken.

