“Easy as Apple Pie” Tart

I can convince myself that anything is healthy, as long as I made it with my own two hands.  I.e. Butter and eggs are the staples of a humble and natural life. Or at least they would be if the cute cows and chickens didn’t live in their own cesspools. Hm.

These apple tarts get the “Jen seal of approval” for a midday snack, especially since they’re not as decadent as apple pie. Though.. apple pie can so be a breakfast food. I personally need cereal in the morning, but I’d have no qualms about following it up with something special.

The recipe for its crust is AWESOME. As I was messily combining ingredients and mixing an egg yolk into the doughy mass, my expectations just lowered and lowered. But alas! It came out tasting like a flaky, buttery pie crust. Perfect. I will definitely refer back to this recipe in the future.

Also, the thinner you slice the apples, the more elegant it comes out in my opinion. Once baked, they feel delicate and light, though not nested in their own filling, like in an apple pie.

I halved this recipe to make two smaller tarts. The rectangular one at the end was done in a normal baking pan, though I folded over the sides to form a crust.

Sexiness:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“Easy as Apple Pie” Tart

Pastry:
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup butter, chilled
1 egg yolk
2/3 cup milk (I used almond)

Filling:
1 cup crushed cornflakes cereal (used frosted flakes)
8 cups thinly sliced apples
2/3 cup white sugar
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground nutmeg

Honey for drizzling
Almonds for flair

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  2. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
  3. In a medium bowl, stir together  flour and salt. Cut in the 1 cup butter until mixture is mealy using a pastry blender or a fork. Mix milk and yolk together and stir in mixture. On a lightly floured surface, roll out into a large rectangle or the shape of the bottom of your pan. Place in pan.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
  4. Sprinkle cereal over the crust, then layer the apples over the cereal. Stir together the white sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg; sprinkle over the apple layer.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
  5. Bake for 45 minutes; then let cool for 10.
